Faith Promoting Series Complete Set - 17 Books (1879-1915)

Faith Promoting Series Complete Set - 17 Books (1879-1915)

By: Various

Price: $149.95  $134.96

Quantity: 9 available

Condition: New

Brand new softcover book!

; The complete Faith Promoting Series Set! Included Titles: My first Mission, A String of Pearls, Leaves from my Journal, Gems from the Young Folks, Jacob Hamblin, Fragments of Experience, President Heber C. Kimball's Journal, Early Scenes in Church History, The Life of Nephi, Scraps of Biography, The Spaulding Manuscript & the Myth of the Manuscript Found, Labors in the Vineyard, Eventful Narratives, Helpful Visions, Treasures in Heaven, Precious Memories, Gems of Reminiscence.

The Faith Promoting Series began in 1879 with the publication of President George Q. Cannon's book, "My First Mission". The series was published primarily under his direction and then through his successor, George C. Lambert. These books were geared to the youth of the Church and, knowing that doctrinal essays and discussions about correct principles only bored young readers, these books were tailored to primarily include true and exciting stories from the lives of Latter-day Saints. Because of Elder Cannon's position in the First Presidency of the LDS Church, these books were approved through the Church's governing leadership and encouraged as youth readers. Some of the most stirring histories and biographies of the early Church are included in this set. President Cannon wrote:

"The present age is one of doubt and unbelief. Faith in God, in His willingness to hear and answer prayer, and in the gifts of the gospel has almost vanished from the earth. As a people we have this to contend with. Our children, not having had experience themselves, have to be carefully watched lest they, too, should partake in the leaven of unbelief. We feel that it is a duty we owe to them to place within their reach the evidences that their fathers and their mothers have received of the existence of God, of His willingness to hear and answer prayer, and to bestow His gifts upon those who seek for them in the right way.

"We see no reason why the volumes of the Faith Promoting Series already published, as well as those which may follow, should not be regarded as standard works for the Church and used for home reading or Sunday School class books when the authors and those whose history they treat shall have passed to another sphere of action. ; Faith Promoting Series Series; 5" x 8"; 0981712126

Title: Faith Promoting Series Complete Set - 17 Books (1879-1915)

Author Name: Various

Categories: Faith, Faith Promoting, Inspirational,

Publisher: Heber City, Utah, Archive Publishers: 2008

Binding: Paperback

Condition: New

Seller ID: 41467

Keywords: Archive Books My First Mission A String Of Pearls Leaves From My Journal Gems For The Young Folks Jacob Hamblin Fragments Of Experience President Heber C. Kimball's Journal Early Scenes In Church History,